Graduate Management News
People on the Move

People on the Move

Mike Buiter has been tapped to be dean of Bob Jones University’s School of Business. Buiter holds a B.S. in accounting from BJU and an MBA from Duke University.

Ian Clarke has been appointed as head of the University of Edinburgh Business School, effective in September. Currently the director of Newcastle University Business School, Clarke earned his BA in geography from the University of Wales and his PhD from the Australian National University.

Philippe Courtier will become president of EMLYON Business School in July. Courtier, currently director of the Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées, graduated from Ecole Polytechnique and from Ecole Nationale de la Météorologie, and holds a PhD from the University Pierre et Marie Curie.

Linda Darragh has been appointed as executive director of the Levy Institute for Entrepreneurial Practice and the Heizer Center for Private Equity and Venture Capital at the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University. Formerly the director of entrepreneurship programs at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, Darragh received her BA from Queen’s University and earned her MSc (Pl) from the University of Toronto.

Jonathan Darsey has been named associate dean for the executive MBA program at Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. Darsey earned his BA at Davidson College and his MBA at the SC Johnson Graduate School of Management at Cornell University.

Elizabeth B. Davis has been appointed dean of the University of New Haven’s College of Business, effective this summer. Currently the chair of the department of organizational sciences and communication at The George Washington University, Davis earned her bachelor’s degree from Columbia University and her PhD in systems sciences from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Steve Harvey has been appointed to a five-year term as dean of the John Molson School of Business at Concordia University in Montreal, effective in July, Currently the dean of the Williams School of Business at Bishop’s University, Harvey received his BA from Bishop’s University and his MA and PhD in industrial and organizational psychology from the University of Guelph.

Daniel Hollas has been appointed interim dean of the College of Business at the University of Texas San Antonio. Hollas holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Houston and master’s and doctorate degrees in economics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Saul Klein has been appointed as dean of the Peter B. Gustavson School of Business at the University of Victoria. He earned his BA at the University of Jerusalem and his MBA and PhD at the University of Toronto.

Sharon Lightner has been appointed as dean of the College of Business Administration at California State University San Marcos, starting July 1. Presently the William E. Cole Director of the Charles W. Lamden School of Accountancy at San Diego State University, Lightner earned a bachelor of science degree from the University of Montana, a master of science degree from San Diego State University, and a doctor of philosophy degree from the University of Oregon.

Franklyn Achampong Manu has been appointed rector of the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration. Manu earned a BSc administration degree from the University of Ghana and also holds an MBA and PhD from the New York University Stern School of Business.

Latha Ramchand has been appointed dean of the CT Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston. Ramchand earned BA and master’s degrees, both in economics, from the University of Bombay, and her PhD in finance from Northwestern University.

Robert Scherer has been named dean of the University of Dallas College of Business, effective August 1. Currently a professor of management and dean of Cleveland State University’s College of Business, Scherer earned his bachelor’s degree at Miami University in Ohio, a master’s degree from the University of Redlands in California, and a doctorate in business administration from the University of Mississippi.

Tony Travaglione has been appointed to be pro vice-chancellor of the Curtin Business School at Curtin University in Australia. Travaglione earned his BBus degree at the Western Australian Institute of Technology and his dPhil degree in management from the University of Western Australia.

Ed Weis has been named dean of the School of Business at Mercy College in New York. Weis earned his BS in accounting at David Lipscomb University, his JD from the University of Tennessee College of Law, and his PhD in finance from the Terry College of Business at the University of Georgia.

Richard White has been chosen as interim dean of the E. J. Ourso College of Business at Louisiana State University, effective June 8. Currently a professor in the school, White earned his bachelor’s degree in political science from Old Dominion College, his MBA from Purdue University, and his PhD in public administration from Pennsylvania State University.

Charles H. Whiteman has been named the Elizabeth L. and John P. Surma Jr. dean of Penn State’s Smeal College of Business, effective in July. Currently senior associate dean at the Tippie College of Business at the University of Iowa, Whiteman earned his BA in economics from the University of Kansas and his PhD in economics from the University of Minnesota.

Send promotion and hiring announcements to for inclusion in future editions of this newsletter. Please include name, school, new position, most recent position, and degrees earned, with institutions.

Click here to visit the home page
Click here to Read Our Archive