Graduate Management News
What's New

23 GMAT Program Code Categories Added or Updated

Reflecting the rapid expansion in types of graduate programs involving business and management that accept the GMAT exam, GMAC has added or updated 23 program types to its GMAT program code categories.

“Management skills are critical in most every walk of life. From engineering to healthcare to public policy – we are seeing more master’s programs incorporating management,” said GMAC Executive Vice President Julia Tyler.

At the same time, the number of specialized master’s programs in business-related fields such as accounting and finance continues to increase. As 2011 ends, more than 5,300 different programs use the GMAT exam.

“All types of business and management programs, all around the world,  are finding GMAT scores help them identify quality applicants well-placed to stand up to the academic rigor of their programs,” Tyler said.

Schools that use the GMAT exam for different programs should make sure that they have a different GMAT code for each program and that each code is categorized correctly, Tyler said.

Having programs coded correctly:

  • Helps prospective students find the right program. Candidates searching for programs on may filter by GMAT program code types rather than specific program name.
  • Helps schools identify and benchmark the competition. For each of their programs with a program code, schools receive management reports with data such as the average GMAT score and score ranges; demographic and geographic summaries of all test takers who send scores to that program; and a list of other programs where those students are sending their scores. These reports help schools understand their program position in the marketplace.
  • Helps schools tailor their marketing for each program. Having different GMAT codes for each program helps schools recruit with more precision. By targeting the audience by GMAT code, schools can focus on developing the right messages for the right audience.

GMAC added the new program codes in 2011 because it recognized the growth of new program types accepting the GMAT exam for admission.

“Having more precise categories will serve everyone better,” Tyler said.

New or updated GMAT program code types:

  • Doctoral/PhD in Business Administration or Management
  • MA/MS/MSc in Accounting, Accountancy or Taxation
  • MA/MS/MSc in Business or Management
  • MA/MS/MSc in Communications
  • MA/MS/MSc in Economics
  • MA/MS/MSc in Educational Leadership
  • MA/MS/MSc in Engineering Management
  • MA/MS/MSc in Entrepreneurship
  • MA/MS/MSc in Finance
  • MA/MS/MSc in Hospitality
  • MA/MS/MSc in Human Resources, Industrial Relations or Organizational Behavior
  • MA/MS/MSc in Information Technology or Systems
  • MA/MS/MSc in International Business
  • MA/MS/MSc in Marketing
  • MA/MS/MSc in Real Estate
  • MA/MS/MSc in Supply Chain Management, Logistics, or Operations
  • MBA, Distance or Online
  • MHA/MPH in Health Administration or Public Health
  • MPA/MPP in Public Administration or Public Policy Management
  • Other Doctoral/PhD (i.e. EdD)
  • Other Masters, Online
  • Post Graduate Diploma or equivalent – 1 year
  • Post Graduate Diploma or equivalent – 2 years

To review your current codes, click here and to add or update your program code types, click here.



Click here to visit the home page
Click here to Read Our Archive