Graduate Management News
People on the Move

People on the Move

James W. Dean, Jr., has been selected to become the next senior associate dean for academic affairs at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Kenan-Flagler Business School. Dean will assume the business school’s top academic position on July 1. Dean is a professor of organizational behavior and strategy; he has been associate dean of executive education at UNC Kenan-Flagler since July 1, 2002, and he served as associate dean of the MBA Program from 1998 to 2002. He has conducted research and consulting projects with such companies as ALCOA, Boeing, Corning, DuPont, and General Electric. He is a former senior examiner for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and former director of the National Science Foundation’s Transformations to Quality Organizations Program. Dean earned doctoral and master’s degrees in organizational behavior from Carnegie Mellon University. He earned his BA from The Catholic University of America.

Denise B. Haile accepted a position as director, MBA admissions, for the Simmons School of Management in Boston, Massachusetts, in September. Haile has been in business school admissions for seven years, and her last position was as associate director. She received her bachelor's degree from Harvard University and her MBA from Bentley College.

Kelli Kilpatrick joined the Texas A&M University Mays Business School as the MBA program director; she was previously the director of recruitment and admissions for Duke University’s Executive MBA Programs. Kilpatrick holds a master’s of education degree in higher education administration from the University of South Carolina. She spent six years consulting for the enrollment management firm Noel-Levitz, and most recently served as recruitment and admissions director for Duke’s MBA-Global Executive, MBA-Cross Continent, and MBA-Weekend Executive programs.

Sylvia Leong has joined Carnegie Mellon University's West Coast campus in Mountain View, California, as the director of admissions for its master’s programs in software engineering and software management. Prior to joining Carnegie Mellon West, Leong was the senior associate director for part-time MBA admissions at the USC Marshall School of Business, where she had previously served as associate director of full-time MBA admissions. Leong earned her bachelor’s degree in mass communications from UC Berkeley.

Dina Natale became the MBA admissions coordinator at the St. John Fisher College Bittner School of Business in November 2006. Previously, Natale was the network administrator and then sales administration supervisor for Toshiba Business Solutions, and a consultant for Computer Associates Intl., working with multinational. In 2006 she completed the One-Year MBA program at Bittner School of Business. She also holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from St. John Fisher College.

Darla Pires-DeGrace is the new associate director of MBA Admissions at the Simmons School of Management. Pires-DeGrace started her career as an admissions coordinator working at Tufts University for six years. She then was a recruiter at Hawaii Pacific University before joining Akamai Technologies as a corporate recruiter. Pires-DeGrace earned her bachelor of science degree from Emmanuel College and is pursuing her master's degree in communication management at Simmons.

Simone L. Pollard took the position of director of graduate business programs at the Villanova School of Business. Previously, she was the associate director of MBA programs at the University of Arizona Eller College of Management. Prior to entering the higher education arena, she was a management consultant for Sibson Consulting, a division of The Segal Group in New York. Pollard obtained her MBA from the University of Michigan Ross Business School and holds a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from the University of Virginia.

Waldemar Schmidt, chairman of Thrane & Thrane A/S, Superfos A/S and former CEO of ISS, is the new goodwill ambassador for the full-time MBA class of 2007 at Copenhagen Business School. Since 2000, Schmidt has pursued a new full-time career with a variety of positions, including directorships of international companies in six different countries. Between 2001 and 2003 he was an executive-in-residence at IMD in Switzerland, where he undertook a research project that resulted in his book, Winning at Service. His newly published book, Denmark Limited – Global by Design, tells the story of how 50 Danish companies become global leaders.

Majken Schultz, a professor in organization studies, corporate branding, and reputation management, has been appointed associate dean of the full-time MBA at Copenhagen Business School. She is a professor of management at CBS and director of the Reputation Institute in Denmark. Schultz is actively involved in the Danish business community, and she serves on the boards of several leading companies, including Danske Bank, Fonden Realdania, and COWI.


© 2007 Graduate Management Admission Council™ (GMAC™) All rights reserved. GMAC™ and Graduate Management Admission Council™ are registered trademarks of Graduate Management Admission Council™. ALCOA® is a registered trademark of Aluminum Company of America Corporation. Bentley College® is a registered trademark of Bentley College. Boeing® is a registered trademark of The Boeing Company. The Catholic University of America® is a registered trademark of The Catholic University of America. Corning® is a registered trademark of Corning Glass Works. COWI® is a registered trademark of COWI A/S. DuPont® is a registered trademark of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company. General Electric® is a registered trademark of General Electric Company. Harvard® is a registered trademark of the President and Fellows of Harvard College. Noel-Levitz® is a registered trademark of US Group Noel-Levitz, Inc. Texas A&M University® is a registered trademark of Texas A&M University Institution of Higher Education. USC® is a registered trademark of University of Southern California. University of South Carolina® is a registered trademark of University of South Carolina. University of Virginia® is a registered trademark of Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia. Villanova® is a registered trademark of Villanova University in the State of Pennsylvania.
Click here to visit the home page
Click here to Read Our Archive